key strokes in SDR radio software for a blind user

Iaen Cordell

Good morning list, I am new to SDR and have a replay SDR.

I am also blind and am after advice on the best version of Simons’s software that supports keyboard commands.

From reading this list over several months I am really looking/listening forward to this.

PS.  I wonder if we can get the water fal displays to talk with text to speech software.

73 IC.

Mag loop Simon

Hello

there appear to be lots of keyboard commands..

i have myself been exploring them to make a desktop sdr console interface..simple one that has vfo..tx..tune.maybe vox..( my post on this is to follow..)

Simon i hope will appear during the week and hopefully give a list, or say where the list is..

i know now a few, but to be honest am very new to all this sdr stuff and would prefer to allow Simon to list them..

i say this as i do not want to give incorrect information..

regards Mag loop Simon,  G0zen 

Mag loop Simon

I am talking about version 3.24.. the last version.

Max

Hi Iaen

Welcome to the SDRC group. I am pretty sure that sadly there are many features of the latest version of SDRC at the moment (Version 3) that do not currently have keyboard shortcuts. One of the most obvious ones is mode selection (AM/FM/SSB etc), for example. Also filter width selection. I am not blind but I too would welcome as many shortcuts as I just prefer to be able to operate as much from the keyboard as possible.

I have a feeling that there were more shortcuts in the older version of SDRC, Version 2, which is now no longer in active development. Others on here still use V2 and will be able to advise if this is the case. Folks?

What level of shortcuts do you require? So, do you need to be able to operate absolutely everything with keyboard shortcuts, or do you have some ability to use a mouse to select some on-screen features?